Tidy Towns Award

Key Dates

Entries close : 30th June 2019

Judging Commences : July 2019

Award Presentation : Fri 18th October, 2019 Oatlands.

Apply Online


The Tasmanian Tidy Towns Program is conducted by the Keep Australia Beautiful Council (KABC) with generous support from the Tasmanian Government.

The Program was introduced in 1980 and has been strongly supported by towns, suburbs, schools and community groups throughout the State. Many thousands of Tasmanians are involved annually in community development programs through Tidy Towns.

Over the years, Tidy Towns has been expanded from an anti-litter program to include a range of eligible activities from major environmental projects, school development and community involvement projects, heritage and cultural restoration, tourism projects, recycling programs, maintenance of gardens and parks, litter control, and many other community development and environmental protection efforts.

Not every entry will be an instant winner but the spirit of Tidy Towns can become an infectious start to your community’s ongoing development.


Remember, your community doesn’t have to cover all the criteria to enter. You can start by entering one or more projects of which you, your community group or local council are proud. The important thing is to make a start and then tell us about your project.

Entry Criteria

All towns and suburbs are invited to participate, through community groups, schools, councils, individuals, businesses and other organisations undertaking new or ongoing beautification, environment enhancement or community development projects.

The five categories listed below allow communities of varying sizes to compete on a fair and equitable basis:

Tidy Towns Award Categories

The award categories for Tidy Towns are:

  • Litter Prevention
  • Waste Management and Resource Recovery
  • Natural Environment Conservation
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • Heritage and Culture
  • Community Action and Partnerships
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Youth Leadership & Activities

Population Categories

The five categories listed below allow communities of varying sizes to compete on a fair and equitable basis:

  • Town/suburb: 500 population or less
  • Town/suburb: 501 – 2000 population
  • Town/suburb: 2001 – 5000 population
  • Town/suburb: 5001 – 15000 population
  • Town/suburb: Over 15000 population

If you live or work in a City you may like to compete in the Sustainable Cities Award.
Individuals, Schools and Councils, in fact almost everyone, is eligible to enter the Clean Beaches Award.


A range of awards and prizes will be given in all categories at a presentation luncheon held by the previous year’s winning town. Tasmania’s winning town receives a trophy for permanent display, the perpetual trophy to display for 12 months. Certificate awards will recognise community development efforts in all categories.


Independent judging will be conducted by the Keep Australia Beautiful Council and the judge’s decision is final. The judge’s assessment will take into account resources, climatic and geographic factors and will consider the criteria listed below.

Remember you may have a project which is relevant to only one or two of these areas, it may be a project entered previously which is still being maintained – it is still eligible for entry!

The judge will consider entries under the above categories.Your community may choose to cover all of these areas or simply enter a particular project in one of these areas. Special efforts and a whole range of community development projects undertaken by groups and individuals will also be considered for certificate awards.

Our Mission

Environmental Education framework and awards promoting learning for a litter free, sustainable Australia.
Find out more
Thank you to our ECO-School sponsors